Skip to content

Ram On 2015 – Part 2

January 11, 2016

Here is a loose recap of Ram On for 2015 (part 2).

It’s the second week of January. Twelfth Night has come and gone. Kids are heading back to school, works schedules are getting back to normal and holiday revelers’ credit card statements are coming due. Things are getting back to normal. It’s 2016 and we’re way beyond year-end retrospectives.

But not here at Ram On. Part 2 of Ram On 2015 is only now ready to go. Ram On is bringing up the rear on 2015 look backs. This wasn’t an editorial or stylistic move. Nothing of the sort. It’s simply a delay caused by the production department that has been occupied with a chorus of murmurs about a false deadline, claims about priorities of a “day job” and gripes about fussy video and photography software. I should fire the whole lot and insist on tighter schedules, but that would mean I’d have to fire myself, which would be devastating.

I posted to Ram On thirty-one times in 2015. The WordPress Blog-o-Meter reports that these were the posts that weren’t read as much as the others.

  1. Place Your Bets
  2. Maple Trees Just a Little Bit Duller
  3. Election Day is Only 330 Days Away
  4. Souls and Fairy Tales
  5. Even on April Fool’s Day

Well wouldn’t you know it? I quite enjoyed writing some of these discount bin selections. Maybe the Ram On reader outreach and focus group department should be canned along with the production department.

Well, for those of you who have waited for the movie version of these blog posts, tune in below. Excerpts and highlights from these and more are included in the second and last survey of Ram On for 2015.

Thanks for sticking around.

35 Comments
  1. Here’s hoping you don’t fire yourself. We’d hate to see you go!

    Like

    • Ha ha! I won’t let the vagaries of the software drive me away. I can’t quit until I either consistently reach the “Carrie 750- Word Rule” or fully reconcile to comforts of the Ram On “I Can’t Care Too Much About Word Count Rule.” I’m mostly there with the latter. Mostly. Almost.

      Like

  2. I believe I’ve read them all!

    I don’t really take the time to analyze statistics when it comes to this WordPress crap. It doesn’t mean the piece was good, bad or this or that. I just figure people have time to do other things. Sometimes I’ll post something and a lot of people will read it.

    The universe laughs at the fluke.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The universe’s belly hurts from laughing so much.

      As for the stats, it is insane to pay too much attention to them. This isn’t a turnstile at Yankee Stadium after all. As they say, it’s just “another WordPress blog.” But I just found it funny (in sort of a “the universe laughs” way) how some of those I enjoyed writing were at the bottom of the heap.

      Thanks for always stopping by.

      Like

  3. Here’s looking forward to whatever delightful tales you bring our way in 2016, Bruce. Many thanks for all of your posts in 2015. –Curt

    Like

  4. I like the video … so cheers to the production folks for coming through. What software is involved?

    Like

    • Thanks, Frank. The production department’s biggest issue is the turnaround time. It just seems to take too much time. I guess it’s because there aren’t enough reps with the software yet. I use garden variety software – Microsoft Movie Maker and whatever photo editor came with the computer. The most confounding step was moving images into Movie Maker. Edited, clean and in focus images from the MS WIndows folders often end up as cloudy and drab on the Movie Maker file. Annoying, but I kept pushing.

      Like

      • Thanks. I asked because I’m looking into trying to do one. I want a free version, and MMM is one of the recommendations … but also others that I can’t recall off the top of my head – yet I recall I’m leaning to one of the others.

        Like

        • Free, a price point that fits in nicely with the Ram On budget.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Just looked up my list … EZVID and Lightworks. Thoughts?

            Like

            • I don’t know a thing about it. I’m just hacking along with this stuff. Perhaps just follow the user ratings and then jump right in. I think you’ll have fun no matter which of them you choose, as long as you start with the right demeanor and a bit of time to figure out the basics.

              Like

            • Good suggestions. It seems Lightworks is the most sophisticated of the three … but that’s why I’m leaning toward EZVID.

              Like

  5. I imagine that some were on vacation for the new year, and others had guests or were part of a social scene and had less reading time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Shimon, Sure, some of our blog posts aren’t read as frequently as the others. I get busy and drop off for periods of time and know that others do as well. But it’s funny how some of the posts that I particularly enjoy writing aren’t always those that readers enjoy. No big deal, whatsoever. Just one of those things.

    Thanks for sticking around.

    Like

  7. Oops! Looks like the “two thumbs up” thingy doesn’t work on this platform! Nicely done, Bruce!

    Like

    • Thank you. I’m happy that the 2-oh-fifteen wrap up had a spot for our team and that great day that we had out at the yard.

      Like

  8. Never too early to plan for the next one… 😉

    Like

  9. As I found with my Word Press stats of blogs most liked, add ‘hot man,’ ‘spaghetti’ or perhaps ‘ice cream’ to your title, and your words will be golden. 🙂 In all honestly, I’ve enjoyed every one of your posts, so don’t berate the writer/production manager/editor and give us another year.

    Like

    • I remember “spaghetti” (pasta night) and “ice cream” (flavor personalities) from your blogs. Big hits, you say? “Hot man” won’t likely find its way here and I cannot remember how it fits into your blog, so am now going to leave for a minute to check. Okay, back. I see that I missed a recent blog and you’ve chronicled all this. The forces of the internet at play on roughwighting.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Very enjoyable movie version, Bruce! Looking forward to another year of versatile blogging.

    Like

  11. It’s always the posts I’m most ‘pleased’ with which get least attention and others I’m not so sure of seem to be best received. It seems I’m not alone in this experience !

    Like

    • Hello Rebecca, If only we could know as you are writing that you were having particular fun with a post…

      Yes, it can be a funny thing, this writing blog posts.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh this second half is wonderful, too! Thought provoking, sad, fun, and brought a smile to my face. What a year you had!
    Your comments about what is well read, or not, are true for me as well. A photo that I’m particularly proud of will receive yawns.
    I do enjoy visiting Ram On, and look forward to having a bit more time to peruse blog posts without a campaign to run!

    Like

    • Laurie – Ram On just wasn’t the same while you were out doing Democracy. If I had to choose between one or the other, I’d much prefer your good judgement, temperament and sensibilities in the people’s house; that’s the smart choice. But it’s good to have you back.

      As for the photos, I know that I have a good technical eye for these things. But, I know Fab when I see it.

      Like

  13. Thanks, Laurie. Your 2016 will be SO different from 2015. And you now have the benefit of knowing your part of the world so much better than you did in 2014 and many new friends to enjoy it with.

    Like

  14. Production Department! Ha! Good one. I think my blogging operation is run by a bunch of volunteers, and so I can’t get consistent work out them. Some days they stay home to care for a family member, sometimes they use the wrong equipment and blame each other, some days they bribe their younger brothers with Reese’s peanut butter cups to write for them, and some days they are so brilliant I think they accidentally came to work at the wrong place.

    Your posts have more of a consistency and I appreciate it. Here, again, is another well-made video. Great idea: video summary vs. commentary. Way to think outside the box.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Crystal,

      Maybe these people are discontent about the office coffee and they are letting it affect their work. (You know how entitled workers can feel these days.)

      Have you tried an off-site team builder event? Perhaps a walk in the woods would inspire the good folks over at Conscious Engagement. If that doesn’t work, go out and buy them a nice bottle of wine.

      Try carrots before sticks.

      Liked by 1 person

Kindly tell me, friend

