Skip to content

Ram On 2015 – Part 1

January 3, 2016

Here is a loose recap of Ram On for 2015 (part 1).

I posted to Ram On thirty-one times in 2015. WordPress’ Blog-o-Meter reports that these were the most widely read.

  1. Smiles in the School Cafeteria
  2. Crank Up That Old Victrola
  3. Ernie Banks
  4. About
  5. October Baseball
  6. Both Sides of Desire with Rickie Lee
  7. Teach Your Children Well
  8. A Friday Night in Paris
  9. Ready as I Need to Be
  10. Blood-Stained Calling Card
  11. Early Morning Trades

I enjoyed writing all of these, but the joy wasn’t always unadulterated. There’s sadness too. Last year conveyed reason for outrage, perhaps even despair. These are our times.

I try to keep the posts short, but not all the time. Some of these approach what we call “long reads” these days. Thanks to all of you who get to the end. The video recap here is abbreviated. Ten minutes of “easy reading.”

Had I put together a full-length summary, I’d risk lose half of you with something that brings to mind a seventy-five non-stop Grateful Dead minute jam, a stretched-out and dreadful Star-Spangled Banner before the ball game or a three-hour French film with subtitles, depending on your interests. Thus, kindly indulge me with a Ram On 2015 – Part 2 later this week.

Thanks for reading. All the best to you in 2016.

 

39 Comments
  1. I’ve enjoyed every post I’ve seen here since I started following your blog.

    Like

  2. Looking forward to more in 2016.

    Like

  3. Look forward to reading more from you. Happy New Year.

    Like

  4. kdk permalink

    I recently found myself apologizing to someone for a long email and they kindly excused my wordiness by pointing out that brevity and clarity don’t always mix well. No matter the length, your words always seem thoughtfully-chosen and are a pleasure to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kdk,

      We do seem to have low tolerance for too many words on a screen. The smaller the screen, the lower the attention span. Naturally so, I think.

      Brevity doesn’t always lead to clarity and is never better than clarity. I’d rather be clear than brief. Of course, the ultimate is to be clear and brief. I want to attribute “brevity is a virtue” to a person I once knew, but cannot.

      By chance, did you and I attend the same Illinois schools when we were kids? Just a hunch. And another question, do you write a blog? Just thought I would ask.

      Bruce

      Like

      • kdk permalink

        I’m not sure about it being a virtue but I do find brevity admirable – the elegance of fewer words. It’s a talent (or virtue?) which usually escapes me.

        We didn’t attend the same schools, though I grew up in the area and find that you write about things that often strike close to my own Illinois roots. Maybe that casts a familiar voice —

        Kathy

        Like

        • Kathy,

          Mystery solved. I think you have the brevity talent, because your writing creates a lot of punch and imagery with a thrifty use of words. And yes, sometimes with the Illinois/Wisconsin sensibilities reflected all so elegantly.

          Like

  5. Nice recap! And always interesting and enjoyable reads here. Happy 2016.

    Like

  6. Thank you, Helen. It’s always good to see you stop by.

    Like

  7. Thank you very much, Bruce, for sharing with us some of what is most precious in your life. I agree with Robert Frost, that since we have to waste our lives… it’s best to waste them on what we love most. May the coming year be filled with more great moments of understanding and enjoyment, as we continue to waste this visit with the world around us.

    Like

  8. Happy New Year to you and your family, Bruce! Thank you for the recap; once again I greatly enjoyed it. I look forward to Part 2 and to even more posts in 2016!

    Like

  9. Good job! Thank you! Happy 2016, Bruce! Mat

    Like

  10. Happy New Year, Big Guy. Brubeck, an A2000, the Thiesen clan, and Buster. Whodda thunk they could have been weaved together so nicely! Please pass along my best wishes to Ray & Roberta!

    Like

  11. Hah! I can’t wait!

    Like

  12. John Kelly permalink

    Nice piece Bruce. I was touched with the Joel photos and I’ m sure Jack was too.

    John

    Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy S® 6.

    Like

  13. Seeing and hearing jazz, Barry Zito, baseball, the author of this blog and an answer to what Jesus might drive all in the same slide show year end tribute is well, Dynamite! Great job Bruce. Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Steve – watching our favorite pitchers can have a jazzy feel to it. A feel that a writer like you could possibly capture. (Was that a suggestion? A fan’s request? Maybe.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love that Bruce and will be thinking about your suggestion until I do something about it, fulfill it. Not many times in my life have i introduced baseball to strangers, but more than three times anyway and the pitcher batter duel, each time, is what moves them towards more, baseball that is.

        Like

        • Beautiful, Steve. This is what I heard. A nice, but not tense match-up in the third inning of a scoreless day game ended with a lazy fly ball to center. That’s what I heard.

          Like

  14. All the best for 2016! ~ヾ(^∇^)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Happy New Year, Bruce … and may 2016 bring you many smiles and a Cubs-Giants NL final. Loved the video … watched all. One question – what software did you use?

    Like

  16. Goodness! How did it get to be January 17th and I am just now checking in?
    The music you selected to go along with the 2015 memories was great. I appreciate the time involved in putting this video together. On to Part 2!

    Liked by 2 people

  17. You put a lot of work into that video! Thanks for the photos, the memories, and the nice music. Yours remains one of my favourite blogs since the very first day I read a post. I am confident that you’ll tell more great stories in 2016.

    Like

  18. What a great video!

    Like

Kindly tell me, friend

