Skip to content

Daylight Loses to Another Evening

November 11, 2014

Tuesday’s tale. (When absolute becomes corrupted.) 

IMG_1978

A child’s drawings left there on the table
And a woman’s silk lying on the floor
And I would keep them here if I were able
Lock her safe behind this open door

But suddenly it’s so clear to me
That I’d asked her to see what she may never see
And now my kind words find their way back to me
There’s a train everyday leaving either way
There’s a world, you know
You got a ways to go
And I’ll soon believe – it’s just as well
This is my opening farewell

– Jackson Browne, from My Opening Farewell

From → Life

10 Comments
  1. please say this is not your farewell to blogging! LMA

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Is there a story behind that picture? It’s got an interesting collection of items in it.

    Like

    • Carrie – I like the photo. All of those items were in easy reach when I had a thought the other day. There’s a small story behind every one of them. I’d need some help here to remember some, but they are all part of the composition of the larger stories that are easier to remember.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A sad and very real sounding song.

    Like

  4. Do I gather from what you said to Carrie there that you took that photo then? It’s very intriguing, I looked at it for a while before reading the words, it really draws you in.

    By the way, while I’m here – do you know anything about movers in Atlanta? 😉

    Like

    • Vanessa-Jane, The photo was shot here on location. It is intriguing, even to me. There’s a lot to tell there. As for Atlanta movers, absolutely not. However, there were talks of Atlanta as a job transfer destination a long, long time ago. I don’t think I’m a southeast kind of guy. I’d melt on the first hot weather spell.

      Like

  5. I really love that photo, it’s full of untold tales and the past….beautifully captured

    Like

Kindly tell me, friend

