Skip to content

Election Day

November 3, 2014

Tomorrow is election day. Democracy ain’t what it used to be, but for this week, this is all we have. Get out and vote, folks!

I'll have the pleasure of voting for Jerry Brown one more time. A sui generis political figure, in many ways. He's served as State Attorney General, Oakland Mayor and of course, the Governor of California. With a 20-point lead in the polls, everyone expects that he will be elected to his fourth term Tuesday. He was California's youngest governor and is now the our oldest. Still fit as a fiddle and taking care of things in The Golden State.

I’ll have the pleasure of voting for Jerry Brown one more time. A sui generis political figure, in many ways. No pollsters, image makers or hacks getting in the way. He has a mind of his own, which frustrates those who would like to pin him down as a conservative or a liberal. He knows California.  He’s served as State Attorney General, Oakland Mayor and of course, the Governor. With a 20-point lead in the polls, everyone expects that he will be elected to his fourth term Tuesday. He was California’s youngest governor and is now our oldest. Still fit as a fiddle and taking care of things in The Golden State. We are fortunate to have him.

It’s easy to be cynical about all of this. There’s too much dirty money involved. Shameless shenanigans, such as gerrymandering and building structural impediments to voting, instill frustration and even despair for some citizens.  All across the country, from Anchorage to Miami, from Maine to San Diego, we’re giving way too much responsibility to too many people who just don’t have it in them to do the right thing. They have no backbone and no ideas of their own. Some of these people are nothing but hacks who are impressionable and easily influenced by outside interests and others who don’t give a damn about you and me. This of course makes voting that much more difficult and sometimes, less satisfying.

IMG_1927

Some of the junk mail from the past week. Most of it, except the information guide from the State and the sample ballot from the County, add up to just that – junk.

The system may be loaded under the influence of too few people who have learned how to put and keep smarmy politicians in place, but I’ll keep playing my limited role. I don’t quite skip to the polling place the way I once did, but I continue to trudge out there with determination, knowing that, with at least one big sorry exception, the votes are still generally counted until there is a decisive outcome and a clear winner.

IMG_1929

That’s four elections, not four votes in a single election. (From the upper right section of the refrigerator door.)

I have one last request, when get to the polls, please vote as I would.

if-you-could-uicrq0

I can’t believe I just created and then added one of these silly Internet memes to Ram On. (Truth be told, it was mildly fun.)

 

From → America

20 Comments
  1. The junk mail is crazy. I cringe every time I toss more glossy, expensive ads into the recyclable bin. But I’ll be voting on Tuesday. Let’s hope everyone will.

    Like

  2. Oregon makes it easy, Bruce. We get to vote by mail, unlike the many states who do everything they can to limit who goes to the polls. I’ve already voted. Brown is an interesting phenomena in politics. I was around during his first term, even sat in on meetings where environmental issue were being discussed when I was director of the Planning and Conservation League. They were interesting. –Curt

    Liked by 1 person

    • We can vote by mail down here, but I never do it that way. I think I am programmed to go to the polling place. It’s good to see the volunteers, exchange a quick “thank you for volunteering” for a “thank you for voting” and see democracy up close.

      Like

      • They used to use the school Peggy was principal of outside of Sacramento as a polling place. Always interesting. –Curt

        Like

  3. We work the polls all day in Concord, Mass., so we voted early a few weeks ago. Thanks for getting the word out. We’ve been working the elections for decades now and it is always disappointing to find ourselves bored at the polls because no one shows, yet soon after so many complain about the state of things. Many of us do not take advantage of our privilege to vote. thanks for putting the word out there, xo LMA

    btw, I was the first woman to vote in the town of concord back in 1878, when women were allowed to chime in only on the school committee. xo

    Liked by 2 people

    • Pub’s work at the polls is a happy thought. I’ve never done it, although I think I would like it. I have been a witness/observer for a campaign during a close vote count. I don’t think I added much value, in spite of the encouragement from the campaign managers.

      Like

    • You have a fabulous voting history my friend, regardless of the century you were born! Thanks for working the polls for us. I was just in Concord over the weekend. Lovely as always.

      Like

  4. Will do! Heard this morning that the polls are virtually empty here in central VA. Sigh.

    Like

    • Just to think, there was a time people fought for right to vote.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just yesterday I was listening to an NPR story on jury duty. About 75% of the people called to jury duty just don’t show up. Reasons vary. But the panel was talking about how we have lost sight, as a society, of the fact that serving on a jury is a privilege, much like the right to vote, for which our ancestors gave their lives. Troubling.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Your post reflects what many of us feel – the right, the need to vote, even if we do it without alot of enthusiasm. Unlike your central VA commenter above, I was pleased to see good activity at my precinct!

    Like

  6. I just stole that image for Facebook. The meme shall have wings!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great post. I agree!! And ONE of the reasons I’m sorry I just moved out of the SF bay area is that I can’t vote for Jerry Brown one more time. He’s a classic..and classy. (love the photo of you two)

    Like

    • Hi Pamela – yes, I would miss that too. I’ve missed a few. Too young the first time. Six months too late to California the second time. Hope Election Day in your new neighborhood was good to you.

      Like

  8. You created a meme! (also noticed Wallace & Gromit on the fridge – another fan here)

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Get out and Vote today! | Suffragette Kitty

Kindly tell me, friend

