Skip to content

Love is Just a Four-Letter Word

October 18, 2014

“And now I understand
After waking enough times to think I see
The Holy Kiss that’s supposed to last eternity
Blow up in smoke, its destiny
Falls on strangers, travels free
Yes, I know now, traps are only set by me
And I do not really need to be
Assured that love is just a four letter word”

– Bob Dylan, from Love is Just a Four-Letter Word

 

Cropped Crossword

This morning’s crossword puzzle. Completed in pen. No eraser required.

Bod Dylan wrote Love is Just a Four-Lettered Word, but appears to have never recorded it or performed it in concert. Joan Baez seems to have liked the song very much. She played it in concert often and it’s on a number of her record albums.

IMG_2231

When Joan Baez was folk queen. This is a Vanguard “Twofer” printed in 1976. Two discs for the price of one. Her voice is superb on these recordings of mostly traditional and Dylan songs, including “Love is Just a Four-Lettered Word.”

Here’s a lovely version from No Direction Home. (I’ve made peace with the Dylan mimic she still throws in after all these years. Nobody should take that away from her.)

For the Bobbed-up or anyone curious about Dylan’s process when he was a young man, here’s another clip from the documentary. It starts out with Baez singing a couple Dylan songs, including Love is Just a Four-Letter Word at the three-minute mark. It wasn’t complete at the time and Baez concludes with an encouragement for Dylan to wrap it up. The film concludes with them singing Hank Williams’ Lonesome Highway. It all appear a bit chaotic, but let the results speak for themselves.

From → Life

13 Comments
  1. I’ve never listened to much Dylan or Baez. Do I dare admit that? Perhaps they were just a bit before my time. Yeah, let’s go with that. 😉

    Like

    • Then again, they probably were. I remember first connecting with music in the 70s, and then of course, the 80s, an era of tunes I really don’t need to return to…

      Like

    • You still have time, Carrie. Lots of kids at the Dylan shows these days. It’s cool with the younger set. You could be one of them.
      As for albums, there are so many choices. Some of that decision-making process depends on your frame of mind. A top list of _0 or even _00 Dylan songs has been lingering around Ram On. Would be a new series.

      Like

  2. Thanks for the wonderful trip down the lonesome/lost highway, Bruce. I had not seen that before. –Curt

    Like

  3. I’ve never heard that song! Cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post and good listening! Brought me back to the time when I used to sing & play some of her songs. Long ago.

    Like

    • It seems Joan Baez has dropped off the music scene quite a bit and not many listen much anymore. I don’t. But when I do, I always enjoy her beautiful voice.

      Like

  5. This post really made me happy, Bruce, and loved watching that creative process. The coming together with music. wonderful

    Like

  6. Hi Laurie – they were moving pretty quickly in that hotel room. Youth on fire.

    Like

  7. A nice trip down memory lane. Thanks.

    Like

  8. PS how I admire your ability to finish a crossword puzzle. (And wow, no eraser.)

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Place Your Bets | Ram On

Kindly tell me, friend

