Skip to content

Advertisers Off the Leash

July 13, 2013
sleeping on plane

Can’t we just let this guy rest?

You’ve seen the guy on the plane, train or bus – his head leaning on the window and sleeping as comfortably as if he were napping on his own couch on a lazy winter day.  How perfectly content he looks.  None of the activities from others or the commotion inherent in public transportation seem to faze him whatsoever.

I once used to work with a guy who traveled domestically and internationally quite a bit – most weeks involved a trip someplace.  He used the time to sleep, often starting before the plane even departed and waking up in the final stages of the flight.  A master traveler and sleeper extraordinaire!

When things are right, I can sleep on a picket fence in a wind storm.  My brother is a pretty good sleeper also and suggests that is a genetic advantage bestowed upon us.  When I used public transportation to commute back and forth from San Francisco State University, it was quite easy for me to doze off and complete my nap in time to depart as intended.  I don’t remember ever sleeping through my stop.

Travelers beware!  Resting your eyes may not be so easy soon.  Not if the adman gets his way.  The global ad agency, BBDO, is working on a project appropriately named, “Talking Window.”  Read on and maybe you’ll come up with your own name for it.

sleeping on plane 2

Does it appear that this woman is looking for a way to spend money? Leave her be please.

Targeting weary commuters in Germany, the global ad agency BBDO and the broadcasting company Sky Deutschland are planning to utilize bone conduction technology to hawk their wares.  With this new method to find us where we are, transmitters will be attached to the train windows that will activate advertising messages when someone leans their head against the windows.  Try to rest and without warning, voices will tell you all about an enhanced life that is available to you if you would only put your money down for some new product, service or app.  Nobody else, unless they too are leaning against the window, will hear the advertisement.

There will be no way to escape the messaging short of keeping your head away from the window.  Not until someone rolls out the “OOCP”, the “pay for opt-out commuter plan.”

When I’m drivin’ in my car
And that man comes on the radio
He’s tellin’ me more and more
About some useless information
Supposed to fire my imagination
I can’t get no, oh no, no, no
Hey hey hey, that’s what I say

I can’t get no satisfaction
I can’t get no satisfaction

– M. Jagger and K. Richards

From → Technology

3 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on barbaramonier and commented:
    My friend and penpal Bruce Thiesen has recently started a blog. Take a look. He has quite a lot to say, and he says it well.

    Like

  2. Mike Heyer permalink

    Bruce, Wonderful stuff here.

    Like

Kindly tell me, friend

