Skip to content

July 10

July 11, 2013

My two sons are the true joys of my life.  It all started July 10th, years ago in San Francisco out on California Street, at what was then known as San Francisco Children’s Hospital.

May your hands always be busy
May your feet always be swift
May you have a strong foundation
When the winds of changes shift
May your heart always be joyful
May your song always be sung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young
– Bob Dylan

I still have a couple boxes and a few cigars.  Many more were passed around in a very Reagan-era way.

I still have a couple boxes and a few cigars. Many cigars were passed around (very Reagan-era).

I keep this safe inside the cigar box.  It is a 1969 Topps card signed for me by Nolan Ryan at a kitchen table while drinking iced teas in August 1987.

I keep this safe inside the cigar box. It is a 1969 Topps card signed for me by Nolan Ryan at a kitchen table while drinking iced teas together in August 1987.

4 Comments
  1. You’ve made an interesting expression here with Dylan lyrics and photos telling your story with Ryan. I find this fascinating and it’s enough to have any Ryan card from the 1960’s let alone an autographed one let alone from a seance sipping lemonade with him. I had the Ryan rookie from 68; the dynamic duo card with Koosman; bought it for 10 bucks at a card show as a kid and then sold it 15 years later at another card show for 500 bucks. Had to pay off some debts. I guess the past saved me that day. Insert smiley face here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice move on the card sale. (That’s a crazy high figure.)

    My Nolan Ryan card was just packaged with nine other cards and a stick of rock hard bubble gum. At the time, he was just another wild throwing kid trying to make it in the big leagues. The fact that he was on the hated Mets caught my attention, but it would be a few years before any of us kids really took notice of him.

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. July 10 | Ram On
  2. July 10 | Ram On

Kindly tell me, friend

