Skip to content

For Becky

April 20, 2014

Dear Becky,

We hold you tightly in our hearts.
Forever with love,

Bruce

Becky 001

Shadows are fallin’ and I’m runnin’ out of breath
Keep me in your heart for a while

If I leave you it doesn’t mean I love you any less
Keep me in your heart for a while

When you get up in the mornin’ and you see that crazy sun
Keep me in your heart for a while

There’s a train leavin’ nightly called “When All is Said and Done”
Keep me in your heart for a while

Becky 021 (4)

Sha-lalala-lala-li-lalala-lo
Keep me in your heart for a while

Sha-lalala-lala-li-lalala-lo
Keep me in your heart for a while

Sometimes when you’re doin’ simple things around the house
Maybe you’ll think of me and smile

You know I’m tied to you like the buttons on your blouse
Keep me in your heart for a while

Hold me in your thoughts, take me to your dreams
Touch me as I fall into view

When the winter comes keep the fires lit
And I will be right next to you

Becky 021 (1)

Engine driver’s headed north up to Pleasant Stream
Keep me in your heart for a while

These wheels keep turnin’ but they’re runnin’ out of steam
Keep me in your heart for a while

Becky 005

Sha-lalala-lala-li-lalala-lo
Keep me in your heart for a while

Sha-lalala-lala-li-lalala-lo
Keep me in your heart for a while
Keep me in your heart for a while

- Warren Zevon

***********

I lost my photographs a few years ago. Thanks to my mother, Nancy, Mark and Faelyn, in a last minute scramble I pulled a few marvelous photos of Becky last night, some of which I had never seen before. I share them with you in the video below. There’s more music than photos of Becky, so I’ve used some twice. If I had to, I’d use them three times; they’re worth another look. I’ve combined them with some of Warren’s wonderful music that I listen to each year around two-week period of Becky’s birthday and the day of the year that we lost her.

 

9 Comments
  1. This is great and emotional.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel for you. Lost my only brother in 2001.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sent from my iPad

    Like

  4. Linda permalink

    I was feeling kinda lost today, remembering Becky’s birthday…lost and impatient as if something was missing. This tribute to Becky helped me remember the wonderful, fun person she was and how I wish she was still in our lives. Thank you for this. We miss you, Becky.

    Like

  5. Lovely. My best to all the Thiesen’s on this special day. PEACE.

    Like

  6. Bruce, this is such a poignant tribute to Becky. She was lost to you all so young. Thank you for sharing her with us.

    Like

  7. Bruce, beautiful and touching. The words and music blend into a perfect medium to share her with us. Thank you.

    Like

  8. Faelyn permalink

    Dear Uncle Bruce,
    This was a beautiful way to remember not only my mom but those mentioned at the end. It reminded me who my mom really was and the things we shared and loved and the legacy that Hadrian, Ian and I will carry on.
    With lots of love and appreciation,
    Faelyn

    Like

Kindly tell me, friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

