Skip to content

Anyone Who’s Ever Had a Heart

October 28, 2013

I was saddened to hear about Lou Reed.  Some of his music wasn’t interesting to me and some of it wasn’t even accessible.  I simply didn’t get it.  But what I missed in breadth, I may have made up for with Sweet Jane.  I’ve enjoyed that song many times over the years.  I listened perhaps twenty times yesterday before my son finally asked me if that wasn’t enough of that.  Lou Reed’s song remains with me.

Sweet janeMichael Timmins, from the Cowboy Junkies, tells the story that when they first started recording music, someone gave Reed a copy of their version of Sweet Jane.  Reed was very pleased with their record and very kind and gracious when he met them a year later.  Timmins said that on learning of Reed’s approval of their cover, he could have ended his music career right then and there and called it a success.

Standing on the corner
Suitcase in my hand
Jack is in his corset and Jane is her vest
And me I’m in a rock ‘n’ roll band
Riding in a Stutz Bearcat, Jim
You know, those were different times
And the poets they studied rules of verse
And those ladies, they rolled their eyes

Sweet Jane
Sweet Jane
Sweet Jane

Jack, he is a banker
And Jane, she is a clerk
Both of them save their monies
When they come home from work
Sitting down by the fire
The radio does play
The classical music there, Jim
“The March of the Wooden Soldiers”
All you protest kids
You can hear Jack say

Sweet Jane
Sweet Jane
Oh, Sweet Jane

Some people, they like to go out dancing
And other people like us, they have to work
And there’s even some evil mothers
Well they’re gonna tell you that everything is just dirt
That pretty women never really faint
And that villains always blink their eyes
That children are the only ones who blush
And that life is just to die
And anyone who’s ever had a heart
Wouldn’t turn around and break it
And anyone who ever played a part
Wouldn’t turn around and hate it

Sweet Jane
Sweet Jane
Oh, Sweet Jane

Heavenly wine and roses
Seems to whisper to me when you smile
Heavenly wine and roses
Seems to whisper to me when you smile

Sweet Jane
Sweet Jane
Oh, Sweet Jane

- Lou Reed

From → Music

9 Comments
  1. Thanks Bruce. If I ever knew the song, I have long since forgotten it. Enjoyed the words and the music. –Curt

    Like

  2. This one stuck with me because I still play it often… :)

    Like

  3. Love the verse. Love it.
    But also got a chuckle out of your son telling the ‘old guy,’ um, isn’t that enough of that? Ha ha.

    Like

  4. Glad you liked it, Pam. It is a pretty song. My son also goes for it, but enough is enough, I guess. If you are not familiar with it already, you may want to take a peak at another lovely one, “Oh, Sweet Nuthin’ “

    Like

  5. The Cowboy Junkies cover was amazing – truely made thier career.

    Like

    • Hi Axl, Yes, they took a terrific song and in some ways, made it theirs.

      Like

      • Agree – and isn’t that what a great cover should do – othewise you are just a run of the mill bar band.

        PS – how on earth did you eve stumble upon my blog?

        Like

  6. I was out reading about Lou Reed and figured I’d keep it on WordPress. There you were!

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Took Me by Surprise | Ram On

Kindly tell me, friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

