Skip to content

Los Angeles Summer Soundtrack

October 18, 2013

“It’s a mere moment in a man’s life between the All-Star Game and an old timer’s game.”
– Vin Scully

I had another Fawn Hall paper-shredding session this afternoon.  I went through about twelve inches of papers from the files in the garage, scanning some before I shred them and deciding for others that even an electronic image wasn’t necessary.  I filled the shredder four times and although I have a ways to go, I am now that much closer to being clutter-free.  While great strides are always a thrill, every little bit is incremental and helps with my effort to get rid of stuff.  I’ll take it.  However, some of this stuff is just too good to toss – like something I came across today.

Dodgers_0002

The Dodgers sent this to me. Notice the doubleheaders – one in each of May, July and September.

When I was a child, I wrote to the front office of Los Angeles Dodgers seeking autographs from their players.  The team had been to the World Series two years in a row, but when I sent my letter, Sandy Koufax had recently retired and Maury Wills had been sent to the Pittsburgh Pirates.  So if I had targeted only stars, I would have been limited to Don Drysdale.  For a more comprehensive approach, I may have made a blanket request or singled out a few others, such as Willie Davis or Wes Parker.  I don’t remember how I handled it.  I didn’t receive any autographs, but the team did send a season schedule and other bits of papers that captured the imagination of a young baseball fan.

radio

Here is the transistor radio I listened to as a kid. I’d place it under my pillow and listen to the Cubs games on WGN. I never made it all the way through a game from West Coast and for that matter, games in St. Louis or Atlanta either. It was not unusual to wake up the next morning with a dead battery, since I’d fall asleep with the radio turned on.

I had never been to Los Angeles as a child and I could only imagine it from books and magazines.  It seemed so exotic – there were beaches and an ocean nearby, the weather sounded delightful and during the state’s glory days, California’s shine was quite real.  Dodger Stadium was a curiosity to me as well.  Since I was two hours ahead in Illinois and the night games started at 8:00 PM Pacific Time, I’d be in a dreamy and relaxed state of mind as I’d tune in to WGN, the Chicago radio station, to listen to my Cubs play the Dodgers.  The rhythm of the game and the radio announcers’ calls, images of the palm trees outside of the ballpark and of ocean breezes and even the names, City of Angels and Chavez Ravine, the part of town where the park was built, all created wonderful good-night stories for me.

While I would have cherished Don Drysdale’s autograph as a child, I’d now think it’d been fun to look back on receiving a note or photo from Vin Scully.  Scully is the dean of baseball broadcasters.  He is beloved throughout the game by the players, the fans and his peers for his unique and distinctive broadcasts, his professional and curious approach to the game and his kind and respectful manners.

VinScullyPressBoxPstcd_sm

Vin Scully with his broadcast partner, Jerry Doggett, at Dodger Stadium in 1962.
http://officialvinscully.com/index.php

According to John Miller, Scully’s friend and our own broadcasting master in the San Francisco Giants booth, Scully became a Dodgers fan as a young boy growing up in New York City, where the team played before their move to Los Angeles in 1958.  He and his classmates knew which attendants would let them into Ebbets Field after school so they could watch the last few innings of the games.  It started when he witnessed the Dodgers take a shellacking one day.  He felt sorry for the team, committed his loyalty that day and has cheered for them ever since.

Dodgers_0001

I also received a ticket order form. In 1967, it cost $2.50 for a ticket for a reserved seat and $3.50 for a box seat at Dodger Stadium, which had then been standing only five years.

Scully has announced the Dodgers games for sixty-three years.  He recently announced that he will return for the 2014 season as well.  He started in 1950, when he joined Red Barber and Connie Desmond in the booth.  He now works alone.  To my knowledge, he is the only baseball broadcaster to do so on a regular basis.  He handles it with aplomb and ease.  I don’t know if I would enjoy his games as much as I do if there was someone else in the booth with him.  He knows when to talk, knows when to be quiet and describes the games beautifully.  His rhythm is just right.  There’s always a story – about games from the past, players he’s known or watched over the years, the players on the field or a moment that he recalls from his long tenure.  He weaves all of this seamlessly into the game on the field that he is announcing.

  • “How good was Stan Musial?  He was good enough to take your breath away.”
  • “Tom Glavine is like a tailor; a little off here, a little off there and you are done, take a seat.”
  • “Statistics are used much like a drunk uses a lamp post – for support, not illumination.”
  • “When he (Maury Wills) runs, it’s all downhill.”
  • “The Dodgers are such a .500 team that if there was a way to split a three-game series, they’d find it.”
    - all from Vin Scully

I’m not a Dodger fan, by any stretch.  They are a competitive team and play very good baseball, but they also have some personalities that just don’t endear the guy watching from his soft green chair after a day’s work.  Plus, I’m not inclined to cheer for the teams that spend a lot of money to shape their roster with a lot of high-priced stars.  The Dodgers’ opening day salaries were the second largest in all of baseball.  (I have to be careful here, since the Giants are a spendthrift operation itself, albeit nowhere near the level of the Yankees and Dodgers.)  But I watch the Dodgers games when I can, just to listen to Vin Scully.  It is a real delight to follow the game with him.  My sons also enjoy his calls and there’s always one of his stories or descriptions to share with one another.

vin_1_front_sm

“I really love baseball. The guys and the game, and I love the challenge of describing things. The only thing I hate — and I know you have to be realistic and pay the bills in this life — is the loneliness on the road.” Vin Scully no longer travels beyond Arizona to announce the games.
http://officialvinscully.com/index.php

The big networks bid on the MLB playoffs and we’re stuck with their awful production.  There isn’t very much focus on the games themselves.  Instead, we get a constant stream of quickly moving camera shots, mostly close-ups of the players, managers and fans, incessant and unneccessary slow-motion shots of everything and anything and one graphic, crawler or advertisement after the other plastered all over the screen.  They also like to zoom into the owners’ or general managers’ boxes.  It’s all very manipulative and designed to create the illusion of drama.  And the announcers?  They clearly know the game, but you wouldn’t know it from listening to their broadcasts.  At this point, I can’t tell if they are really as bad at their trade as we witness, simply following the producers’ guidance or perhaps under contractual requirements to babble on as they do.  It’s more than annoying to sit through it all and it’s only the love of the game that’ll carry me through the games.  This happens at the end of every season and baseball fans brace themselves when they have to switch to these companies from the good quality that we get on many of the local broadcasts that we watch during the regular season.

This year, the Dodgers are playing the Cardinals for the National League championship.  TBS bought the rights to announce the game – a bit better than Fox, who is handling the American League series, but none of it pulls you into the game and you shouldn’t ever expect to get the same joy that you’ll feel as a baseball fan listening to the local stations.  However, TBS has brought a nice touch to its post-game yakety-yak.  They are showing highlights from the game with Vin Scully’s radio broadcast, rather than the network’s booth.  Keith Olbermann, the lead talking head and a man who knows and loves the game of baseball, appears genuinely pleased and honored to let the tapes roll.  For me, it’s the best part of these playoff broadcasts.  Even though we are stuck with the national broadcasters during the game, we can at least get a few words from one of the game’s revered announcers afterwards.

   

From → Baseball

8 Comments
  1. Thought you’d appreciate the baseball love in these (I was traveling and visited Boston): http://lithesome.wordpress.com/category/baseball/red-sox/

    http://thephotoreel.wordpress.com/category/boston-red-sox/

    This has links to some wonderful articles about Mr. Scully:

    http://lithesome.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/baseball-is-here/

    I loved reading these…

    And, humorously, an editorialist for the L.A. Times pondered the options of immortalizing Mr. Scully’s voice for all of history… and then the public responded:

    http://www.latimes.com/news/science/la-oe-smith-vin-scully-voice-of-los-angeles-20130514,0,3530793.story#axzz2icXBRNmm

    http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/opinion-la/la-ol-vin-scully-voice-poll-20130517,0,212710,full.story

    I’ve been blessed to grow up with the sound of Mr. Scully’s voice. It’s like coming home. It’s the perfect lullaby for a Sunday nap on the couch while the game’s playing. There’s just something entirely reassuring about hearing him. Aside from the fact he’s a darn good game caller… and I admit it. I’m spoiled rotten. I’ve had him all of my life. When he’s gone, baseball will never be the same for me. I’ll still love my Dodgers. I’ll still watch the games on television and listen to them on the radio, but they’ll never quite be what they’ve been thus far. I really wish more clubs would let a broadcaster go solo and just talk to the listener/viewer. Shoot, it’d even be cheaper! One salary instead of two. There are still some good broadcasters out there, but I’d rather they talk to me than someone else in the booth.

    But your post is absolutely lovely, Bruce. And I take it we root for opposing teams. I think the beauty of a good fan is disliking the club, but enjoying other fans. :) I’ve been to Wrigley and AT&T, both fantastic parks. And I wore all of my Dodgers gear to AT&T and was a polite fan. I try to be a good host as well as a great guest. It’s still baseball… the greatest sport ever.

    (Sorry, my comments can be every bit as longwinded as my posts!)

    Like

    • Hi Beth – I read all of them – thank you for sending them. Long-winded is only relative and besides, we’re talking about some great topics here.

      Dodgers fans will miss Vin Scully. I will too. I like the LA Times article, “Of all his attributes, the most important is pace. Listening to his play-by-play is like following Beethoven’s 6th Symphony on a warm night in the Hollywood Bowl.”

      Like

      • Some of my favorite topics. :)

        I think that quote is especially fitting considering the turn of phrase Mr. Scully is known for, yes?

        Like

  2. HI Bruce, we here at Red Sox Nation (tough game the other night but we have tonight) really enjoyed this piece. We are so happy you spared your relics of the past from the shredder and hope to see you and them on antique roadshow one day. And yes, though we are not as familiar with Vin Scully, we do miss our team “personalities” that have been overshadowed by the major networks. A good caller, who also happens to be a passionate fan of the home team, is as essential to the game as the starting lineup. Every team and its fans need that colorful personality! xo LMA

    Like

    • For the large cable companies, these post-season games are nothing other than another segment to earn ad dollars, which come easier with larger viewer audiences. I think that they lose viewers with their broadcasters and their production. I think that they should start over. Perhaps contract with people who are better at this (there are many out there – we have at least eight right here in the Bay Area, between the A’s and the Giants). Another idea is to let the local broadcasters for the teams announce when their team is at home. For example, when the WS returns to Boston, form a broadcast team for the national broadcast from the guys who announce the Red Sox games all season. Do the same with the Cardinals announcers when the teams play in St. Louis.

      Like

  3. Beautiful! I may be an Orioles girl (and a big Jon Miller fan!), but I always keep a little Giants in my heart. That’s because when I was a kid living in California my dad was a Dodgers fan … so, naturally, I had to be a Giants fan. We were pretty competitive in all things like that. To this day, whenever I hear Vin Scully I immediately can “see” my dad lounging outside in his green hammock listening to Vin a long time ago. It’s a great memory.

    At least the Orioles today have Jim Palmer doing the color on the television broadcasts. He does a great job of weaving the past into each game, in a way that is smooth, interesting, and never cloying.

    Like

    • The Giants have had some good teams over the years. The O’s too. I tune in to Baltomore every day or two, today included. Lounging in a hammock listening to Vin Scully call a game sounds pretty good to me.

      Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. We’ll All Wear Number 42 | Ram On

Kindly tell me, friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

